Oklahoma Auto Insurance Information
The General® is pleased to provide auto insurance in Oklahoma. We offer low cost auto insurance online even if you have a less than perfect driving record, have never been insured before, let your policy lapse, or have had your license suspended or revoked.
We’ve provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of the more common questions we’ve received from our customers.
Mandatory Minimum Level of Coverage
The state of Oklahoma, like most states in the US, has put up minimum auto insurance coverage requirements to make sure its residents are secured enough in case of an accident. Oklahoma determined the minimum car insurance requirements as:
Bodily Injury Liability
- $25,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
- $50,000 for all persons in any one accident
- $25,000 for any one accident
This basic coverage is often referred to as 25/50/25 coverage.
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Oklahoma Auto Insurance
How does filing claims impact your premium?
While Oklahoma law prevents an insurer from raising your premiums for not-at-fault accidents, they may apply surcharges when filing at-fault accidents or other types of losses. Also, the surcharges are not calculated based on the dollar amount of the claims files. For example, the surcharge applied is the same whether you filed a $1,500 or a $100,000 claim. The surcharges are typically applied for a three-year period and the penalty severity varies.
How Are Oklahoma Auto Insurance Points Assigned?
Points are assigned by the state of Oklahoma and not the insurance companies. However, Oklahoma auto insurance companies use these points to help determine your car insurance rates.
Points are assigned based upon the specific traffic violations that you may receive. A clean driving record has zero points and once you get up to 10 points you are likely to have your license suspended. The points for a specific violation generally fall in the range of 1 to 4 points. A 1 point violation may be something minor such as operating a vehicle with a busted taillight. A 4 point violation includes more serious offenses such as reckless driving.
Can I Own An Auto Without Insurance?
Yes, as long as the auto does not have tags. All tagged vehicles are required to carry proof of liability insurance at the time of registration, at the time of a ticket or accident, and at all times when the vehicle is on the road. If you are stopped for a traffic violation or involved in an accident and cannot show proof of auto insurance your license can be suspended and you could face a fine of up to $500.
What if you’re currently driving without coverage?
The General® offers instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.