Maryland Auto Insurance Information
The General® is pleased to provide auto insurance in Maryland. Auto insurance is required in The Old Line State and The General® is known for providing online auto insurance for less than the competition. The General® offers low down payments, flexible payment plans, and instant proof of insurance. Whether you live in Baltimore, the birthplace of The Star Spangled Banner, or in the capital city of Annapolis, check out what The General® has to offer by clicking on the link below.
Below is some information that should help answer some of the more common questions we receive from our Maryland customers.
Maryland Mandatory Coverages
Maryland drivers must have liability insurance to help cover another driver’s expenses resulting from an accident for which you are at fault. All Maryland vehicles must be insured at all times. The coverage minimums are:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $15,000
- Personal Injury Protection: $2,500 (can be waived under certain circumstances)
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Maryland Auto Insurance
What is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist cover?
Coverage which protects you and the people in your car in the event another driver hits you with inadequate Maryland insurance coverage or no auto insurance at all.
What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and who does it cover?
Maryland requires its drivers to have at least $2,500 worth of PIP, also known as no-fault insurance, to help cover accident-related medical expenses for you and your passengers. If you’re in an accident, PIP can help you with medical fees, wage compensation, substitute services, and/or funeral expenses.
There are 2 different forms of PIP to choose between — full or limited. Full PIP provides coverage for you, persons living in your home, anyone injured while in your vehicle, and injuries to pedestrians. Limited PIP covers children (under 16) in your household, passengers in your car, and injured pedestrians. It doesn't cover you, the policyholder, or family members (16 or older) residing in your household.
What are the fines and penalties for driving without insurance in Maryland?
The first offense is subject to a $150 fine for the first 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to an annual maximum of $2,500 per vehicle, plus a suspended registration. If you drive with a suspended registration, your vehicle may be impounded and you may be ticketed and or fined.
The General® offers instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.