Kansas Auto Insurance Information
Under Kansas law, motorists must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in Bodily Injury
Liability (BIL) insurance, as well as at least $25,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. BIL
insurance pays for the medical and other accident-related expenses of those injured by the actions of the
at-fault driver, up to the coverage limits. PDL pays for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and related
property damage, up to the coverage limits. Neither BIL nor PDL pays for any accident-related expenses of the
State law mandates PIP coverage, which pays the medical expenses of the driver and any passengers up to the
coverage limits. The minimum amount of PIP coverage is $4,500 per person for medical expenses, $900 limit per
month for one year for disability/loss of income, $25 limit per day for in-home services and $4,500 limit for
rehabilitation expenses. There is also a $2,000 limit for funeral, burial or cremation expenses. These benefits
are available to anyone covered directly or indirectly under the auto insurance policy, including the
policyholder and family members, along with non-household members riding in the car at the time of the accident.
Kansas also requires drivers to purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in
uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage does not include property damage.
Keep in mind that this is the minimum amount of auto insurance required by law, and most drivers should purchase
additional insurance to protect their personal assets in case of a serious accident.
While the state does not require collision and comprehensive insurance, lenders will almost certainly mandate
such coverage for leased and financed vehicles. Even if the car is owned outright, drivers should consider
obtaining collision and comprehensive coverage if they cannot afford to replace the vehicle if it is totaled in
SR-22 Insurance in Kansas
A driver whose license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI or other serious traffic offense must have
their insurance company file an SR-22 Form, a
certificate of financial responsibility, with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles before license
reinstatement. In most instances, an SR-22 filing is required for one year, although the timeframe may vary
depending on the severity of the violation.
Kansas Driver Statistics
Nearly 3 million people call The Sunflower State home, and about 2 million of them have drivers’ licenses. Kansas
entered the Union in the tumultuous year of 1861 as a free state after the violent history of “Bleeding Kansas.”
The 15th largest state, Kansas ranks 34th in population.
While best known as an agricultural state, other top industries in Kansas include advanced manufacturing,
aerospace, renewable energy, biosciences, and food processing. Major agricultural products include wheat, corn,
sorghum, and soybeans.
Points of interest in the state include the Eisenhower Presidential Library, Museum and Boyhood Home in Abilene;
the famous Boot Hill of Wild West fame in Dodge City; the Evel Knievel Museum in Topeka, and Tallgrass Prairie
National Preserve in Kansas Flint Hills.
Kansas Auto Insurance & Accident Facts
In 2017, 461 people lost their lives on Kansas roadways in 407 fatal crashes, and 12,399 suffered injuries in
traffic accidents. Of the fatalities, 34 were pedestrians, five were on bicycles and 56 were on motorcycles,
motor scooters or mopeds. Eight people died after hitting deer. Alcohol was involved in 90 deaths. The five most
common contributing circumstances to an accident were distracted driving, animals, failure to yield the right of
way, following too closely and speeding.