Montana Auto Insurance Information
The General® is pleased to offer insurance in Montana. From Glacier National Park in the west to Makoshika State Park in the east, The General® has you covered. The General® offers low cost auto insurance in the Treasure State even if you have violations on your driving record, have never been insured, let your policy lapse, or had your license suspended or revoked. Below is some information that should help answer some of the more common questions we receive from our Montana customers.
Montana Mandatory Coverages
Montana drivers must have liability insurance to help cover another driver’s expenses resulting from an accident for which you are at fault. In addition, all Montana auto insurance policies must offer uninsured motorist coverage, but it can be declined in writing. The coverage minimums are:
Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability: $20,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Montana Auto Insurance
What is Uninsured Motorist coverage?
Coverage which protects you and the people in your car in the event another driver hits you with no auto insurance.
What is the difference between Comprehensive and Collision coverage?
Comprehensive coverage typically covers damage from fire, theft, explosion, glass breakage, animal collision and other incidents not covered by collision coverage. Collision is usually defined as colliding with another object or overturning.
What are the penalties for driving without insurance?
If you break the law by driving without insurance you are subject to one or more of the following penalties:
- Any person operating an uninsured vehicle on public roadways will, upon conviction, be fined a minimum of $250 or sentenced up to 10 days in jail for a first offense. •
- If convicted a second time, the operator will be fined a minimum of $350 or sentenced up to 10 days in jail. The vehicle owner will be ordered to surrender the vehicle registration and license plates for up to 90 days. •
- A third or subsequent conviction results in a $500 minimum fine or up to six months in jail and the vehicle owner will be ordered to surrender the vehicle registration and license plate for 180 days.
- If convicted a fourth or subsequent time, the offender’s driver’s license will be suspended until proof of coverage is provided.
The General® offers instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.