Minnesota Auto Insurance Information
The General® is pleased to offer Minnesotans coverage all across the North Star State. Auto Insurance is required by law in the Land of 10,000 Lakes and The General® has you covered. The General® offers low cost auto insurance even if you have violations on your driving record, have never been insured, let your policy lapse, or had your license suspended or revoked.
Below is some information that should help answer some of the more common questions we receive from our Minnesota customers.
Minnesota Mandatory Coverages
Minnesota State law requires that all motorists carry a minimum amount of liability insurance of $30,000 for bodily injury to one person, $60,000 for bodily injury to all persons, and $10,000 for property damage in any one accident. Mandatory “no-fault” coverage of $40,000 ($20,000 medical / $20,000 economic) is also required. Minnesota law also requires everyone to carry minimum uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage. The coverage minimums are:
Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Basic Personal Injury Protection: $40,000 ($20,000 Medical / $20,000 Economic)
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Minnesota Auto Insurance
What is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist cover?
Coverage which protects you and the people in your car in the event another driver hits you with inadequate Minnesota insurance coverage or no auto insurance at all.
What is PIP (Personal Injury Protection)?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a mandatory auto insurance coverage in Minnesota. All insured drivers must carry PIP coverage of at least $40,000 ($20,000 Medical / $20,000 Economic). Personal Injury Protection offers the following benefits if an insured is involved in an accident:
- Medical and rehabilitation expenses
- Death benefits
- A portion of your lost earnings from being unable to work (up to 3 years)
- Other household expenses
What if I cannot show proof of insurance if stopped by a police officer?
Driving without proof of insurance can result in a misdemeanor citation. If you are pulled over by a police officer and cannot show your proof of insurance one of the following valid forms must be shown:
- Your car insurance ID card.
- Copy of your insurance policy.
- A letter from your insurance carrier.
The General® offers instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.