Due to the recent widespread flooding experienced in Illinois, Governor Bruce Rauner has declared the following counties as disaster areas: Alexander, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Clinton, Cumberland, Douglas, Iroquois, Jackson, Jersey, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Menard, Monroe, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Randolph, Richland, Sangamon, St. Clair and Vermilion.

In response to this tragedy and to help those affected, The General® has placed a temporary moratorium on cancellations and non-renewals in the counties above until February 29, 2016. If you reside in one of the counties above and need any assistance with your personal auto policy or personal auto claim, please call us at 1-800-280-1466.

The Illinois Department of Insurance is also available to handle any disaster-related disputes. You may call the Department’s toll-free complaint hotline at 1-866-445-5364, or file a complaint online at: https://mc.insurance.illinois.gov/messagecenter.nsf