f

Common Definitions




Zip Code

Enter the zip code where you primarily keep your vehicle. This is usually the zip code where you live.



Have you continually maintained liability insurance?

If you have continually maintained auto insurance with a company other than Permanent General ('The General') for the past 6 months without any disruption in coverage, you are eligible for the 'Transfer Discount'. You may even be eligible if your policy has only recently lapsed. Your discount will automatically be applied based on your answer to this question. Please note that if you purchase a policy with the transfer discount we will attempt to verify your prior insurance with other companies; if we cannot verify your prior coverage , you will be required to submit proof documents to demonstrate that you had a policy that was in effect for the last 6 months.

If you have questions about whether you may qualify for this discount you may call 1-866-519-7422.



Is a SR22 needed for Financial Responsibility?

Select "Yes" if you need an SR22 filing.

An SR22 filing is a financial responsibility certification which is sometimes required by the state department of motor vehicles/public safety after you have been involved in an accident with no insurance or due to excessive driving violations. When you have been notified by the state that you must carry a filing, we can file an SR-22 form, which certifies to the state that you have insurance and meet the financial responsibility requirements of the state. If you cancel your policy, we are then obligated to file an SR-26 notifying the state that you no longer have insurance.

We can file an SR-22 only in the state where you are applying for insurance.



Is a SR22A needed for Financial Responsibility?

Select "SR22A" if you need an SR22A filing (Georgia Only).

An SR22A filing is a financial responsibility filing which is sometimes required in the state of Georgia after an individual has been convicted of operating a vehicle without liability insurance. When you have been notified by the state that you must carry a filing, we can file an SR-22A form, which certifies to the state that you have insurance and meet the financial responsibility requirements of the state. If you cancel your policy, we are then obligated to file an SR-26 notifying the state that you no longer have insurance.

We can file an SR22A only in the state where you are applying for insurance.



Is a FR44 needed for Financial Responsibility?

Select "FR44" if you need an FR44 filing (Virginia Only).

A FR-44 filing is a financial responsibility filing which is required in the state of Virginia after an individual has been convicted of any one of three enumerated offenses to provide proof of financial responsibility (FR) that is double state requirements for a period of three years after reinstatement of their driving privileges. The three offenses are DUI, DUI maiming or driving while one's driver's license is suspended for either of these offenses. When you have been notified by the state that you must carry a filing, we can file a FR-44 form, which certifies to the state that have insurance and meet the financial responsibility requirements of the state. If you cancel your policy, we are then obligated to file an FR-46 notifying the state that you no longer have insurance.

We can only file an FR44 in the state where you are applying for insurance.



Good Student Discount

Your application for insurance includes the "Good Student Discount". This discount requires that you submit documentation for the most recent term that confirms that one of the following applies: ranks scholastically in the upper 20% of the class; has a "B" average or better; has a 3.0 average or better; is on the "Dean's List"; or is on the "Honor Roll".



Driver Training Discount

Course requirements are as follows:
1. The course must have been taken within 5 years (60 months) of the policy effective date.
2. The course must have been approved by the Kentucky Motor Vehicle Department OR if the driver is an active member of the military, an approved course from the United States military (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Reserves, National Guard or Coast Guard).
3. The course must not have been ordered by the court.

Please note that if you purchase a policy with the "Driver Training Discount", you will be required to submit documentation that verifies the completion of a state or military approved accident prevention course.



Accidents and violations

Enter the number of accidents and violations for each driver. For each accident or violation declared, select the option from the menu that best describes the incident. The accuracy of your quote depends on the information you provide during the quote process. If you decide to purchase a policy, we will verify your driving record information.

What should be included?
Violations that you were convicted of.
Accidents that were your fault.
Accidents that were not your fault, proof of not at fault may be required.

What should NOT be included?
Comprehensive claims (e.g., broken windshield, theft, fire, hail damage, etc)
Parking tickets




Business Use:

If any of your vehicles are used in the course of business (other than driving to or from work), please contact one of our agents at 1-866-519-7422.

Failure to disclose that a vehicle is used for business purposes could result in misrepresentation and the possible voiding of coverage in the event of a claim.



Social Security Number

Providing your Social Security Number helps us verify certain information (through third party services) needed to accurately price your policy. For further information on how your data is protected and who we disclose information to - please see our privacy policy.

Our website is secure and we utilize encryption technology to ensure that your information is secure.


E-mail Address:

Your e-mail address will be used to send you a summary of your auto insurance quote.

We will not send you unsolicited e-mails or share your e-mail address with anyone else.



Password

Once you register with us, we will collect additional personal data from you such as your Driver License Number and Garaging Address. To protect your personal information, we require you to create a password for your quote so only you can access this information.
The password you create is case sensitive and must be between 5 and 20 characters in length.



Excluded Driver

An excluded driver is a person who is excluded from coverage under your auto insurance policy.
All household members age 14 and older, and any other regular drivers of your vehicles, must be either included on your policy as drivers, or excluded from coverage.

Please note that in the State of South Carolina, drivers can only be excluded for one of the following reasons:
Have another liability insurance policy currently inforce
Do NOT have a valid drivers license

Please note that in the State of Louisiana, the spouse of the Named Insured cannot be excluded.
Please note that in the States of Oregon, Virginia and Wisconsin, drivers cannot be excluded.
Please note that in the State of Kentucky, the spouse and any dependent child of the Named Insured cannot be excluded.
A dependent is defined as someone relying on the primary support of the named insured or spouse.



Policy Effective Date

Select the date that you want your policy to be effective. You can make your policy effective today, or up to 30 days in the future.

If you make your policy effective today, your coverage will begin immediately once your initial down payment has been confirmed, the specific time will print on your application and payment receipt.

If you choose a future effective date, your coverage will be effective at 12:01am on that particular date.



Household members age 14+

Select the total number of household residents age 14 and older. If there are other individuals who use your vehicle on a regular basis but do not live in your household, they should be included in this number too.

All household members age 14 and older, and any individuals who use your vehicle on a regular basis, must be listed on your application for insurance (either included as a driver or excluded from coverage). If the number you have selected here is different than the number of drivers included on this quote, you will be prompted to "exclude" these individuals.

For example, if you have indicated that you will be insuring 2 drivers on this application, and have indicated that there are 4 household members age 14 or older, you will be prompted to exclude 2 drivers.

Please note that the failure to properly disclose all household members and other individuals who regularly use your vehicle may result in a coverage dispute in the event of a claim.



Household members age 15+ (CT and LA only)

Select the total number of household residents age 15 and older. If there are other individuals who use your vehicle on a regular basis but do not live in your household, they should be included in this number too.

All household members age 15 and older, and any individuals who use your vehicle on a regular basis, must be listed on your application for insurance (either included as a driver or excluded from coverage). If the number you have selected here is different than the number of drivers included on this quote, you will be prompted to "exclude" these individuals.

For example, if you have indicated that you will be insuring 2 drivers on this application, and have indicated that there are 4 household members age 15 or older, you will be prompted to exclude 2 drivers.

Please note that the failure to properly disclose all household members and other individuals who regularly use your vehicle may result in a coverage dispute in the event of a claim.

Garaging/Parking and Mailing Addresses

Garaging/Parking Address is the address where your vehicle is primarily kept; in most cases this is your home address.

If you would like to receive your policy documents at an address other than your garaging/parking address, enter a separate mailing address.



Accident Violation Dates

For each accident and violation that you have previously declared, enter the date of the incident. If you cannot remember the exact date, enter a date that is as close as possible.

In some states you may also be asked to indicate the conviction date of the violation. If required, this is usually the date that you went to court for the incident.



Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Every vehicle has a unique 17 digit (alpha and numeric) VIN. Entering your VIN is required to properly identify the vehicle being insured.

The VIN can be found on vehicle's registration or prior insurance documents. It can also be found on your vehicle in the following places:
On the dashboard of your vehicle. When standing on the outside of your car the VIN is visible through the windshield on the driver's side.
On the driver's side doorpost.
The following tips will help to ensure that you have properly entered your VIN:
The letters I, O, and Q never appear in a VIN - if it looks like one of these is in your VIN it is probably a number 1 or 0.
Be careful not to confuse:
The letter "S" with the number "5".
The letter "G" with the number "6".
The letter "Z" with the number "2".



Own or Lease

If you own your vehicle and make payments, you will be prompted to add your finance company as a lienholder. They will receive notification of your insurance policy and coverages, and they will also be notified if your policy lapses or cancels.

If your vehicle is leased, you will be prompted to add the finance company as a lienholder and also as an additional interest to meet the requirements of your lease agreement. They will receive notification of your insurance policy and coverages, and they will also be notified if your policy lapses or cancels.



Lienholder

An organization or person other than the named insured that loaned the money to purchase the vehicle. The lienholder holds the title to the vehicle until the loan is paid. This gives them an insurable interest in the vehicle.



Additional Interest

A person or company who may be liable for an accident involving an insured or an insured vehicle and who has been named as an Additional Interest under the policy.



Co-owner

If you indicate that you have a "co-owner" on your vehicle you will be prompted to list this individual or company as an additional insured. They will receive notification of your insurance policy and coverages, and they will also be notified if your policy lapses or cancels.



Auto Debit future monthly payments

You can save yourself the time and expense of mailing your monthly payment by choosing to have your bank account or credit / debit card charged each month for the current amount due. Each month, you will receive a notice showing your amount due and the date the charge will be assessed.



Policy Term

Policy terms of 12 months and 6 months are offered.



Payment Options

Several payment options are available for each policy term.



Debit Payment Method

Debit card payments are withdrawn instantly from the bank account you have linked to your debit card -- you do not need to provide a PIN number to make your payment. If debit is selected and we cannot process your payment as a debit transaction, we will attempt to process it as a credit transaction.



24/7 Roadside Assistance

The General® offers a Roadside Assistance plan that is administered by Nation Safe Driver (NSD). This optional program provides 24-hour assistance for towing and other emergency services.
The NSD Roadside Assistance plan includes coverage for:
Towing
Battery service
Fuel delivery
Lock-out service

This service is not part of the insurance policy but the fee is included as a convenience. The cost of the motor club service varies by plan. Refer to your documentation about which plan your state participates in.

Plans B & D (other than CA)
12 month payment plans: $120
6 month payment plans: $60

Plan D (CA Only)
12 month payment plans: $125
6 month payment plans: $65



Punitive Damage Exclusion

This is an optional endorsement that in return for a reduced premium adds an exclusion to Liability Coverage for punitive or exemplary damages. Punitive or exemplary damages are monetary awards given to a plaintiff to punish the defendant or wrongdoer and to deter or prevent future wrongful conduct.



Hospital Indemnity Plan

The General® offers a Hospital Indemnity Travel Program that is administered by Nations Safe Driver (NSD). This optional program provides the following benefits and may be written on any member of your household who is included on your auto insurance policy:

Up to $10,000 Accidental Death & Dismemberment Coverage
Up to $1,000 Medical Expense Coverage (excess coverage)
Up to $125 per day Hospital Indemnity for up to a full year

This coverage is NOT part of your auto insurance policy but the fee is included as a convenience. The cost of the Hospital Indemnity Plan (per EACH driver) is as follows:

12 Month Policy with 11 payments
      o Down payment - $10.00
 o Monthly payments - $9.09
12 Month Policy - Paid in Full
 o Total Payment - $110.00
6 Month Policy with 5 payments
 o Down payment - $10.00
 o Monthly payments - $9.00
6 Month Policy - Paid in Full
 o Total Payment - $55.00



Policy Type

Base - this is our standard policy form. Please read your policy for details.

Restricted - this optional endorsement restricts coverage under your policy to only those individuals who are specifically listed on your policy. Please read your policy for details.

Please note that all of the above policy types may not be available in every state. Available ones are displayed in the drop-down box.


Liability Bodily Injury - Property Damage

Liability Bodily Injury - Property Damage coverage is a mandatory coverage in most states.

Coverage Limits?
Coverage limits are displayed in 3 numbers - $12,500/$25,000/$7,500. The first number ($12,500) is the amount of Bodily Injury coverage per person. The second number ($25,000) is the amount of Bodily Injury coverage per accident for all persons combined. The third number ($7,500) is the amount of property damage coverage per accident.

How much coverage do I need?
The rule of thumb is to carry enough coverage to protect your assets. If the amount of damages exceeds your Liability Limits, you will be responsible for the amount of damages above your limits.

Who and What is covered?
You are covered for any bodily injury and property damage that you cause in an accident to another individual or their property. Damage to property also includes damage that you cause to public property such as buildings, telephone poles and fences.

What does it pay?
In an accident where it has been determined that you are at fault, Bodily Injury and Property Damage Coverage will cover expenses for medical costs, lost wages, sickness, death, and property damage related to the accident. This coverage also pays for pain and suffering that may result from the accident. It is considered to be the liability coverage portion of your policy.

Example
You cause a motor vehicle accident and the other driver is injured. Their vehicle has also sustained damage. You have a limit of $12,500 per person/$25,000 per accident/$7,500 property damage for Bodily Injury and Property Damage Coverage. You will have up to $12,500 in coverage for the other driver's injuries. If there were passengers in his/her vehicle who were also injured, you would be covered for up to $25,000 for the accident. You will also be covered for up to $7,500 of property damage. This amount will only apply to any of the damages that fall under Bodily Injury and Property Damage Coverage if it is determined that you are liable.

Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Kentucky Coverage


New York Coverage


Oregon Coverage


Texas Coverage


Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a mandatory coverage in Florida.

PIP, also known as No-fault Coverage, provides coverage for you regardless of whether or not you cause an accident, up to the limits of your policy.

Coverage limits
Total payments under PIP are limited to $10,000 per person, per incident.

What is covered?
PIP coverage pays up to 80% of reasonable medical expenses, up to 60% of lost wages and all reasonable expenses for replacement services such as childcare, housekeeping or yard work, and $5,000 for death benefits.

Who is covered and deductible options?
PIP coverage requires that you select both who will be covered, and the amount of your deductible.

Options for who will be covered include 1) Named insured only, and 2) Named insured and resident relatives.

A deductible is the portion of the claim that you pay - several options are available.

Loss of Income Option?
This option excludes benefits received for loss of income from PIP coverage.

Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Kentucky only

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a mandatory coverage in Kentucky.

How much protection does this coverage provide?

Total payments covered by PIP are limited to $10,000 per person, per incident.

PIP includes:
  1. Medical Expenses - These may include medical and surgical treatment; dental and optometric treatment; ambulance and nursing services; necessary medications, medical supplies and prosthetic devices.
  2. Lost Wages - If you or your passengers are unable to work due to accident-related injuries, PIP helps you recover your lost wages.
  3. Substitute Services - Should you or your regular passengers need help performing household or other tasks due to accident-related injuries, PIP also helps pay for such substitute services.
  4. Funeral Expenses - If a covered individual dies from accident-related injuries, PIP helps pay for related funeral expenses.
PIP provides coverage to the policyholder, policyholder's spouse, members of the policyholder's household, passengers and pedestrians.

PIP Deductible
When you purchase PIP coverage, you need to select a deductible. Your deductible is the portion of a claim that you pay - several options are available.





Personal Injury Protection (PIP) New York only

No-fault coverage, otherwise know as Personal Injury Protection or "PIP" coverage, pays for expenses incurred by persons injured in a motor vehicle accident. This coverage does not pay to repair damage to your automobile.

Basic No-Fault, which you are required by law to purchase, provides coverage of up to $50,000 per person in benefits for;
  1. all necessary doctor and hospital bills and other health service expenses, payable in accordance with fee schedules established or adopted by the New York State Insurance Department; and
  2. 80% of lost earnings up to a maximum monthly payment of $2,000 for up to three years following the date of accident; and
  3. up to $25 per day for a period of one year from the date of the accident for other reasonable and necessary expenses the injured person may have incurred because of an injury resulting for the accident, such as the cost of hiring a housekeeper or necessary transportation expenses to and from a health service provider; and
  4. a $2,000 death benefit, payable to the estate of a covered person, in addition to the $50,000 coverage for economic loss described above.
No-fault benefits will be reduced by other benefits that are payable under Workers' Compensation, social Security Disability, New York State Disability, and certain employer "wage continuation" plans where an employee does not lose and future sick leave benefits.



What is Basic Personal Injury Protection (PIP)? (Oregon)

Personal Injury Protection covers you, your family residing in the same household, and your passengers, regardless of fault, if they are injured in an accident. This coverage is subject to the terms, limits and conditions of the policy contract.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is a mandatory coverage and includes protection for the following expenses:
  1. Medical Expenses - medical expenses incurred within one year after the date of the accident, up to $15,000 per person
  2. Funeral Expenses - limit of $5,000 within one year of accident.
  3. Loss of Income - loss of income up to $3,000 per month (70% of lost earnings). Disability must last at least 14 days to receive benefit.
  4. Loss of Essential Services - If the injured person does not work for pay, and disability con-tinues for at least 14 days, this coverage pays for expenses incurred in obtaining usual and necessary services performed by the person not related or residing in the injured person's household as a substitute for those which the injured person would normally have performed. Limit of $30 per day up to one year.
  5. Child Care Expenses - $25 per day beginning after the initial 24 hours of hospitalization not to exceed a maximum of $750.


This coverage applies to any of the following individuals who sustained bodily injury from the use, occupancy or maintenance of the vehicle:
  1. You, members of your family residing in the same household and children not related to you by blood, marriage, registered domestic partnership or adoption who are residing in your household, and being reared as your own.
  2. A passenger, occupying, or a pedestrian, struck by the insured vehicle.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Texas only

Personal Injury Protection is mandatory in the state of Texas, but you can decline this coverage if you sign off in writing.

PIP includes:
  1. Medical Expenses - These may include medical and surgical treatment; dental and optometric treatment; ambulance and nursing services; necessary medications, medical supplies, and prosthetic devices.
  2. Lost Wages - If you or your passengers are unable to work due to accident-related injuries, PIP helps you recover your lost wages.
  3. Substitute Services - Should you or your regular passengers need help performing household or other tasks due to accident-related injuries, PIP also helps pay for such substitute services.
  4. Funeral Expenses - If a covered individual dies from accident-related injuries, PIP helps pay for related funeral expense.
PIP provides coverage to policyholders, members of the policyholder's household, authorized drivers and passengers.



OBEL

Optional Basic Economic Loss (OBEL) coverage is being offered to you as an enhancement of the Basic No-Fault coverage you are presently required to purchase. But before we describe this coverage, we would like to advise you what benefits Basic No-Fault coverage does and does not provide.

Optional coverage available

In addition to Basic No-Fault coverage, you may also purchase OBEL coverage that will pay certain expenses, up to $25,000, above the Basic No-Fault limit of $50,000. OBEL coverage is different from other coverage's in that a claimant can select the kinds of benefits to be paid under OBEL.

If you purchase OBEL coverage and if it appears likely that a claimant will use up the basic NO-Fault coverage, your insurer will send the claimant a form for the claimant to choose what expenses the $25,000 in OBEL coverage will be used to pay. Under No-Fault, a claimant could include you, family members, passengers in your car, or pedestrians, if injured in an auto accident.

The claimant will be able to choose one of the following four options and thereby direct the insurer to pay expenses for:
  1. basic economic loss, whether health care expenses, loss of earnings from work, or other reasonable and necessary expenses;
  2. loss of earnings from work;
  3. psychiatric, physical or occupational therapy and rehabilitation; or
  4. a combination of option 2 and 3



Supplementary Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage (SUM)

Supplementary Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage provides protection to an insured for bodily injury caused by the driver of either an uninsured motor vehicle or an underinsured motor vehicle. Meaning one to which no liability insurance policy applies or the limits applied are less then the selected limits of the supplemental policy purchase. The Supplemental Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage also provides protection for accidents occurring outside the State of New York.


Supplemental Spouse Liability

New York State Law requires that upon request of an insured, and upon payment of the premium, an insurer issuing or delivering a policy that satisfies the requirements of Article 6 of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law shall provide Supplemental Spousal Liability Insurance coverage.

Supplemental Spousal Liability Insurance provides bodily injury liability coverage under a motor vehicle insurance policy to cover the liability of an insured spouse because of the death or injury to his or her spouse, even where the insured spouse must prove the culpable conduct of the insured spouse.

This coverage, if purchased, is included within the policy's bodily injury liability limits and does not increase the amount of those limits. For example:

Insured's bodily injury policy coverage: $50,000/$100,000
Insured's bodily injury damage claim paid to spouse: $35,000
Insured's bodily injury policy coverage limit available to all other claimants subject to a maximum of $50,000 per person: $65,000

This example assumes the spouse and other claimants involved in the accident have a right to sue the insured for economic loss or for non-economic loss (i.e., pain and suffering) sustained as a result of a "serious injury" as defined in Section 5102 (d), as amended, of the Insurance Law. It must also have been shown that there was negligence on the part of the insured.



Uninsured Motorist - Election of non-stacked (limited) coverage
The election of "non-stacked" coverage is an optional coverage election that limits your Uninsured Motorist coverage.

Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage is an optional coverage in most states. Please note that in some states, that coverage is sold as separate coverages(PA Uninsured/PA Underinsured/NY Uninsured/GA Uninsured / CT Uninsured/Underinsured).

If you are involved in an accident where the at-fault motorist has insufficient or no liability coverage, Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage will cover the expenses incurred by you as a result of the accident. Without this coverage, you may be liable to pay the expenses if the at-fault motorist has insufficient or no liability coverage to pay for your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
The limits you choose must be less than, or equal to, your Bodily Injury Liability limits. In most states, if you reject this coverage, or select limits that are lower than your Bodily Injury Liability Limits, you'll need to sign a waiver acknowledging this.

Coverage Limits?
Coverage limits are displayed in 2 numbers - $12,500/$25,000. The first number ($12,500) is the amount of coverage per person. The second number ($25,000) is the amount of coverage per accident for all persons combined.

Who is covered?
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage covers you, your resident relatives, and the passengers in your covered vehicle. This coverage only applies if it is determined that the other driver is at fault and has insufficient or no liability coverage.

What does it pay?
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage applies to damages such as medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering resulting from bodily injuries caused by an at fault motorist who has insufficient or no liability coverage.

Example
You are hit by another driver and sustain injuries, and damage to your covered vehicle. The other driver has no liability coverage. You have a limit of $12,500 per person/$25,000 per accident for Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage. You will have up to $12,500 in coverage for your injuries. If there were passengers in your vehicle who were also injured, they may be covered for up to $25,000 for the accident.
This amount will only apply to any of the damages that fall under Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage if it is determined that the other driver involved in the accident is liable. If the driver does not have enough liability coverage to pay for your damages, you will be insured for the remaining amount up to the limits you select for Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage after the other driver's liability coverage has been exhausted.
Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

Uninsured Motorist Property Damage is an optional coverage in most states.
This coverage pays for damage to your insured vehicle for damage that has occurred in an accident where the owner or operator of the vehicle who was at fault in the accident, does not have insurance. This coverage may be subject to a deductible in some states.


In California, when Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD) coverage is selected and a vehicle has Collision coverages, Collision Deductible Waiver (CDW) coverage will be provided in lieu of UMPD coverage. This coverage allows for the waiver of the Collision Deductible in the event of an Uninsured Motorist claim.

In Colorado, when UMPD coverage is selected, the amount of coverage is based on the Actual Cash Value (ACV) of your vehicle, less the deductible.
Note: Uninsured Motorist Property Damage applies only to vehicles without Comprehensive / Collision Coverage



Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Deductible

Uninsured Motorist Property Damage coverage in some states is subject to a deductible. The deductible amount you see in your quote refers to the portion of the claim that you are responsible for.



Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (PA only)

Uninsured Motorist Coverage covers you, your resident relatives, and the passengers in your covered vehicle. This coverage only applies if it is determined that the other driver is at fault and has no liability coverage. It will provide coverage for damages such as medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering resulting from bodily injuries caused by an at-fault motorist who has no liability coverage.

If you select a stacked limit, the limit selected multiplied by the number of vehicles on your policy will be the most you may receive for Uninsured Motorist Coverage for an accident.

If you select an unstacked limit, the limit selected will be the most you may receive for Uninsured Motorist Coverage for an accident regardless of the number of vehicles on your policy.

The limits of this coverage cannot exceed your Bodily Injury (BI) coverage limits and must be the same for all vehicles, unless stacked.



Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (PA only)

Underinsured Motorist Coverage covers you, your resident relatives, and the passengers in your covered vehicle. This coverage only applies if it is determined that the other driver is at fault and has insufficient liability coverage. It will provide coverage for damages such as medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering resulting from bodily injuries caused by an at-fault motorist who has insufficient liability coverage.

If you select a stacked limit, the limit selected multiplied by the number of vehicles on your policy will be the most you may receive for Underinsured Motorist Coverage for an accident.

If you select an unstacked limit, the limit selected will be the most you may receive for Underinsured Motorist Coverage for an accident regardless of the number of vehicles on your policy.

The limits of this coverage cannot exceed your Bodily Injury (BI) coverage limits and must be the same for all vehicles, unless stacked. This coverage is available only when UMBI is selected, and the selected limit may not be lower than the UMBI limit selected.



Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (NY only)

Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage provides protection to an insured for bodily injury caused by the driver of an uninsured motor vehicle. Meaning one to which no liability insurance policy applies. This coverage does not apply to accidents occurring outside the State of New York.



Uninsured Motorist Coverage-Reduced by At-Fault Liability Limits.(GA only)

The UM coverage provided under your policy will be reduced by any amounts paid or payable to the insured from available bodily injury and property damage liability insurance carried by the at-fault driver responsible for your injuries or property damage.



Uninsured Motorist Coverage-Added On to At-Fault Liability Limits.(GA only)

The entire limit of UM coverage provided under this policy will be excess of any amounts paid or payable under available bodily injury or property damage liability insurance coverage.



Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Coverage (CT only)

Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist coverage covers bodily injury to you, your relatives who live with you and your passengers if they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are less than you unisured/underinsured motorist limits or a hit-and-run driver.

You have the right to choose the amount of your coverage. It can be as low as $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident or as high as twice your policy's bodily injury liability limits.


Underinsured Motorist Conversion Coverage (CT only)

You can purchase Underinsured Motorist Conversion Coverage instead of Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This coverage is not reduced by payments received by or on behalf of the liable person or any third party. If your damages exceed the amount of the liable person's insurance and other payments received, your Conversion Coverage will be available for damages not paid.



Medical Payments / Excess Medical Payments

Medical Payments coverage is an optional coverage.
Many people buy this coverage to supplement their health insurance coverage. It is a very inexpensive supplement to your medical insurance when you are involved in an automobile accident.

Coverage Limits?
Limits are displayed in a single number - $1,000. This amount represents the amount that will be paid per person, per accident.

What is covered?
Medical Payments coverage covers you if you are involved in an automobile accident and consequently incur medical or funeral expenses due to bodily injury sustained in an accident.

What does it pay?
The limit that you select will be the most that will be paid to each person insured on your policy in one single accident. This coverage pays per person after all other coverages that may apply have been used regardless of fault.

Example
You are involved in an automobile accident that was your fault. You selected a medical payments limit of $1,000. Your policy would pay up to $1,000 for you and each passenger in your vehicle.
Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Comprehensive

Comprehensive coverage is optional; however, it must be included when collision coverage is selected in all states except for CA. The deductible amount you see in your quote refers to the portion of the claim that you are responsible for. The higher the deductible, the lower the premium.
This coverage pays expenses for damage to your vehicle not caused by collision that exceed the deductible that you select. You will be required to pay your deductible if your vehicle sustains damages that fall under this coverage. If your vehicle is totaled and the damages fall under Comprehensive Coverage, you will be reimbursed for the Actual Cash Value (ACV) of your vehicle, less your deductible. The actual cash value of your vehicle is its true market value. This is determined by the year, make, model and condition of your vehicle.

What is covered?
Comprehensive Coverage covers damages to your vehicle that are not the result of your vehicle overturning or colliding with another object or vehicle. This includes loss to your vehicle from fire, theft, vandalism, hail, or contact with an animal. This coverage will only apply to vehicles listed on your policy for which you have selected a Comprehensive Coverage deductible.

Why do I need this?
If you have a bank loan on your vehicle or a leased vehicle, you are usually required to carry this coverage. You should also select this coverage to ensure less out of pocket expenses.

Example
Your car incurs hail damage during a storm. You will be required to pay the amount of your deductible, and the rest will be paid through Comprehensive Coverage.
Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Other than Collision

Other than Collision coverage is optional, however it must be included when collision coverage is selected. The deductible amount you see in your quote refers to the portion of the claim that you are responsible for. The higher the deductible, the lower the premium.
This coverage pays expenses for damage to your vehicle not caused by collision that exceed the deductible that you select. You will be required to pay your deductible if your vehicle sustains damages that fall under this coverage. If your vehicle is totaled and the damages fall under Other than Collision Coverage, you will be reimbursed for the Actual Cash Value (ACV) of your vehicle, less your deductible. The actual cash value of your vehicle is its true market value. This is determined by the year, make, model and condition of your vehicle.

What is covered?
Other than Collision Coverage covers damages to your vehicle that are not the result of your vehicle overturning or colliding with another object or vehicle. This includes loss to your vehicle from fire, theft, vandalism, hail, or contact with an animal. This coverage will only apply to vehicles listed on your policy for which you have selected an Other than Collision Coverage deductible.

Why do I need this?
If you have a bank loan on your vehicle or a leased vehicle, you are usually required to carry this coverage. You should also select this coverage to ensure less out of pocket expenses.

Example
Your car incurs hail damage during a storm. You will be required to pay the amount of your deductible, and the rest will be paid through Other than Collision Coverage.
Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Original Vehicle Cost


This is the approximate 'sticker' price (or M.S.R.P.) of the vehicle when first purchased from the new car dealer. This is NOT the cost you paid if the vehicle was previously used at the time of your purchase.
To find the original vehicle cost or MSRP for new or used cars go to http://autos.msn.com/. From here enter the Make and Model of your vehicle. The original MSRP can be found in the specs section of the vehicle information.
If you are not certain of the original vehicle price, please approximate the cost to the nearest thousand dollars.


Collision

Collision coverage is optional; however, it must be included when comprehensive coverage is selected in all states except for CA. The deductible amount you see in your quote refers to the portion of the claim that you are responsible for. The higher the deductible, the lower the premium.
This coverage pays for damage to your vehicle caused by a collision that exceeds the deductible you select. You will be required to pay your deductible, and the remaining expenses will be paid by your insurance company, at their discretion. If your vehicle is totaled and the damages fall under Collision Coverage, you will be reimbursed for the Actual Cash Value (ACV) of your vehicle, less your deductible. The actual cash value of your vehicle is its true market value. This is determined by the year, make, model and condition of your vehicle.

What is covered?
Collision Coverage covers damage to your vehicle in the event it overturns or collides with another car or object, other than an animal. This coverage will only apply to vehicles listed on your policy for which you have selected a Collision Coverage deductible.

Why do I need this?
If you have a bank loan on your vehicle or a leased vehicle, you are usually required to carry this coverage. You should also select this coverage to ensure less out of pocket expenses.

Example
You are backing out of your driveway and hit a telephone pole. You will be required to pay the amount of your deductible, and the rest will be paid through Collision Coverage.
Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Custom Equipment

Custom Equipment coverage is an optional coverage. This coverage cannot be purchased for vehicles without comprehensive and collision coverage.

Without this coverage, your policy covers only the original equipment included by the manufacturer. If your vehicle has custom equipment, accessories, enhancements, or changes that alter the appearance or performance of the vehicle, it's advisable that you buy custom coverage for these items.

The maximum amount of Custom Equipment coverage that you can purchase is:
California - $1,500
All Other States - $5,000

What's covered?
You should consider purchasing Customized Equipment coverage if your vehicle has permanently installed custom parts or equipment other than those installed by the original manufacturer.

Examples of customized equipment include:
Any dealer-installed equipment that is not offered by the original manufacturer
Special equipment on vehicles, vans, and trucks, including: running boards, brush bars, roll bars, undercarriage lighting, fog lights, bed liners, camper shells, trailer hitches, etc.
Customized wheels, spoilers, suspensions or performance-related equipment
Stereo, sound recording, and television equipment
Customized paint or decals

How much protection does this coverage provide?
Within the limits you select in your quote, this coverage reimburses you for the lowest amount of the following: the actual cash value, the declared value, or the actual cost to repair.



Rental Reimbursement

Rental coverage is an optional coverage. This coverage cannot be purchased for vehicles without comprehensive or collision coverage, and if selected, this coverage must be included on all vehicles with comprehensive or collision coverage.

This coverage pays for expenses to rent a car if you have a loss that is covered under Comprehensive or Collision coverage. The coverage limits you see in your quote refer to the maximum amount that will be paid per day, for up to a specified number of days.



Transportation Expense

Transportation Expense coverage is an optional coverage. This coverage cannot be purchased for vehicles without Other than Collision and Collision coverage, and if selected, this coverage must be included on all vehicles with Other than Collision and Collision coverage.

This coverage pays for expenses to rent a car if you have a loss that is covered under Other than Collision or Collision coverage. The coverage limits you see in your quote refer to the maximum amount that will be paid per day, for up to a specified number of days.



Towing and Labor

Towing and Labor coverage is optional coverage and is not available in all states. This coverage cannot be purchased for vehicles without comprehensive and collision coverage.

This coverage pays for the cost of towing your car if it becomes disabled. The coverage limits you see in your quote refer to the maximum amount that will be paid per occurrence.



Pre-existing damage

Select "yes" if this vehicle currently has any existing damage.

Examples of existing damage would include:
Cracks in the windshield, side, or rear windows
Dents, scrapes, or scratches
Missing or damaged parts/equipment


Please note that any damage to your vehicle that occurred prior to the inception date of your policy will not be afforded coverage.



Double Deductible Option

This is an optional discount that is available in some states.

When this option is selected the deductibles for Comprehensive or Collision deductibles will be doubled for the first 45 days of your policy. This coverage applies to all vehicles with Comprehensive or Collision coverage. This provision does not apply to vehicles added to the policy after the first 45 days and does not apply to any future renewals of your policy.



Credit Score

Permanent General may use your credit score as a factor in determining your premiums; however, this would not be the only factor used.



Deductible Waiver - Safety Equipment (AZ only)

This optional coverage is available at an additional premium charge if Comprehensive and Collision is purchased, and is NOT available in all states.

When this coverage is selected, the deductible that would apply for damage to "Safety Equipment" (e.g., broken windshield, door and window glass ) in the event of a covered Comprehensive or Collision loss would be zero ($0). If this coverage is NOT selected, the Comprehensive or Collision deductible selected would also apply to any damage to "Safety Equipment".

Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Deductible Waiver - Safety Glass (CT only)

This optional coverage is available at an additional premium charge if Comprehensive is purchased at any Comprehensive deductible option.

When this coverage is selected, the deductible that would apply for damage to "Safety Glass" (e.g., broken windshield, door and window glass) in the event of a covered Comprehensive loss would be zero ($0). If this coverage is NOT selected, the Comprehensive deductible selected would also apply to any damage to "Safety Glass".

Your coverage limits, deductibles and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details



Military Discount (Louisiana Only)

This discount applies to Active Military Personnel (AMP) who are based in the State of Louisiana and are serving full time in the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, a Reserve Corp/National Guard or Coast Guard. The awarding of this discount requires a properly executed "Application for Military Discount" form as promulgated by LRS - 22:1425.



Income Loss

Income Loss coverage is an optional coverage and is not available in all states.

Coverage Limits?
In Virginia - Limits are displayed as a single number representing the amount that will be paid per person, per accident on a weekly basis for up to one year. The coverage limit starts at $100 per week.
In Pennsylvania - Limits are displayed as two numbers - $1,000/$15,000. The first number ($1,000) is the maximum amount that can be received per month. The second number ($15,000) is the maximum overall benefit that can be received.
What is covered?
Income Loss coverage covers you if you are involved in an automobile accident and consequently are unable to return to work as a direct result of the injuries incurred in the accident.
What does it pay?
The limit that you select will be the most that will be paid to each person insured on your policy in one single accident. Proof of employment and income levels would be required in the event of a claim.
Example
You are involved in an automobile accident, and as a direct result of the injuries sustained you are unable to return to work. If you selected Income Loss coverage, your policy would pay up to your selected coverage.

Your coverage limits, deductibles, and certain exclusions may apply. Please read your policy for details.



Tort Options

Limited Tort
This option allows you to receive financial compensation for out of pocket expenses such as medical bills and lost wages, but not pain and suffering (except in certain cases.)

Full Tort
This option allows you to receive financial compensation for out of pocket expenses such as medical bills, lost wages, and also for pain and suffering.


First Party Benefits

Benefits available to you, your spouse, or other relatives or minors in your custody or in the custody of your relatives, residing in your household, occupants of your motor vehicle or persons struck by your motor vehicle. These benefits can be individually selected or in combination. Extraordinary Medical is available only when you select $100,000 in Medical within First Party Benefits, or if you select the Combination First Party Benefits option.



Combination First Party Benefits

Includes Medical Expenses, Income Loss benefits, Accidental Death benefits, and Funeral Benefits. This covers at least $177,500 of benefits total or benefits payable up to three years from the date of the accident, whichever occurs first, subject to a limit on accidental death benefit of $25,000, a limit on funeral benefit of $2,500, and an income loss benefit of $50,000, and Medical Benefits of $100,000.



Extraordinary Medical

Extraordinary Medical Benefits provides $1 million coverage and pays for reasonable and necessary medical treatment and rehabilitative services exceeding $100,000. This coverage is available only when you select $100,000 in Medical within First Party Benefits, or if you select the Combination First Party Benefits option (which includes $100,000 in Medical coverage).



Funeral Benefit

This is an optional coverage which is designed to pay for reasonable and necessary expense related to funeral, burial or cremation should an insured's death result from an accident within 24 months of a covered loss.



Accidental Death

This is an optional coverage which is designed to pay to the insured's family or designated personal representative if an insured's death results from an accident related injury.



Registered Owners

We require that all registered owners of all vehicles on an auto insurance policy must also be included as insured drivers on that policy.

Example: You are interested in obtaining a quote for your 2004 Honda Accord. You and your spouse are registered as co-owners on the Accord, and you also have a 17 year old driver in the household that you wish to include on the policy. You will need to select "3" for Number of drivers.



Kentucky Tax Information

Kentucky Municipal and State Taxes

Your local government may impose taxes on your insurance policy (under Kentucky Statutes Section 91A.080), which we are obligated to charge as part of your policy premium. To ensure this tax is assessed accurately, we rely on you to enter your correct address that best describes where your vehicle will be garaged.



Loan/Lease Payoff
To purchase Loan / Lease Coverage, your vehicle must be financed or leased, and have a lienholder. This coverage cannot be purchased without collision and comprehensive coverage.

What does this cover?
Loan/Lease Payoff Coverage covers the difference between what your vehicle is actually worth and what the outstanding loan or lease balance is in the event of a total loss.

What does this pay?
Loan/Lease Payoff coverage pays you the difference between the Actual Cash Value (ACV) of your vehicle at the time of loss, less the applicable deductible and the vehicle�s salvage value (if retained by the owner or insured), and any greater amount owed on the vehicle at the time of the loss, less any unpaid finance charges, excess mileage or wear and tear charges, any other charges or expenses associated with the loan or lease, and by the vehicle�s salvage value (if retained by the owner or insured).



Do I need more than minimum coverage?

Everyone has different automobile insurance needs, so your coverage selections may vary depending on your situation. If you are making payments on your vehicle, you will need to select some level of Physical Damage (Comprehensive and Collision) coverage. "Full coverage" is a common term that is often used to describe how much automobile insurance coverage someone has on the policy. Although there is really no such thing as "full coverage", that term is intended to mean that the policy has more than just Liability coverage.



Primary Driver

Each vehicle must be assigned a primary driver. A driver cannot be assigned to more than one vehicle. If there are more vehicles than drivers, choose 'N/A - All drivers assigned' for the remaining vehicles.