Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Information
The General® is pleased to provide auto insurance in Pennsylvania. We offer low cost auto insurance options online even if you have a less than perfect driving record, have never been insured before, have let your policy lapse, or have had your license suspended or revoked.
We’ve provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of the more common questions we’ve received from our customers.
Mandatory Minimum Level of Coverage
Pennsylvania state law requires a minimum coverage of $15,000 per injured person up to a total of $30,000 for everyone hurt in the accident, and coverage of $5,000 for property damages.
- $15,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
- $30,000 for all persons in any one accident
- $5,000 for damage to property of another person
This basic coverage is often referred to as 15/30/5 coverage.
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Pennsylvania Auto Insurance
What can occur if I cancel my liability insurance?
If your motor vehicle is not insured with liability insurance, you could face the following penalties:
- A minimum fine of $300
- A three month suspension of your vehicle registration
- A three month suspension of your driver’s license
What is acceptable proof of insurance?
- Insurance ID card issued by the insurance carrier
- A copy of the declaration page of an insurance policy
- A copy of a valid binder of insurance
- A copy of an application for insurance to the PA Assigned Risk Plan
What if you’re currently driving without coverage?
The General® offers instant proof of insurance when you buy auto insurance online at our website.